Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to the new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In today’s world, with the proliferation of online streaming services many argue that cinemas have been overshadowed. While I agree with the given statement to some extent, it is irrefutable that there are substantial number of the movie buffs still prefer going to movie theatres.

First and foremost, movie theatres offer an irreplaceable atmosphere, which is sought after by most movie watchers. For most watchers even if it is one click away to watch a film on streaming services, they opt for cinemas, not only for watching the film but creating an unforgettable memory. In addition, people often go to cinema with their close ones, which enables them to socialise and tighten their relationships. Moreover, there are certain cinema- exclusive films that are not streamed online, which makes movie enthusiasts go to a cinema so as to watch unstreamed films.

On the other hand, movie streaming services, such as Hulu, HBO max, and Netflix are boon for people who live in the distant parts of the world, where even basic cinema infrastructure is not available, for instance third world countries. Availability of such services helps people to watch films without the need to commute, which can be considered an eco-friendly practise. Furthermore, watching films on those services is way cheaper, especially for students, as subscription fees are discounted for them. Subscribers with paying monthly fee can watch any movie they want on the service, thereby saving a lot of money.

To summarise, the advent of streaming services has benefitted majority of people, especially students and those who live in remote areas. With cheaper prices and worldwide availability streaming services are gaining unprecedented traction. However, the atmosphere of cinemas cannot be replaced, as those services leave less room for socialisation.