Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to the new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is widely argued that cinemas are going to lost their popularity because of new streaming services. This essay strongly agrees with this assertion, as video streaming platforms are cost-effective and pressure of work.

To begin with, one key reason that cinemas are becoming irrelevant over new streaming services because these platforms offer people more cost-effective entertainment. In other word, due to the great invention of technology, the community has many alternatives for OTT (over-time-top) platforms such as Amazon prime, Netflix, Disney plus, which are affordable mode for entertainment. Furthermore, cinema tickets are extremely expensive in comparison with streaming services so that people prefer to sit at home comfortably and enjoy flicks. For instance, in Australia, the standard cost for a movie ticket is approximately 25$. In fact a Netflix membership is worth 4$ per a month so individuals could watch more than one movie or series by paying that much.

Another compelling reason to advocate for reducing popularity of going to cinema is that in the modern era, people are under significant amount of work pressure, which means they often do not have time to go to movie in cinema and also, they cannot ignore their professional life and social life. However, some people believe that going to the cinema is also a way to build connection with people and socialize. But in my opinion people usually do not find opportunity to communicate with each other during watching movies because they need to be quiet since cinema is a public place, they should respect other people’s right and won’t distract them. Moreover, people do not want waste huge chunk of their time with traffic on the way to cinema and get back home. For example, recent studies have shown that since 2018 the sales of film show tickets have witnessed a significant drop by 40%.

In conclusion, although cinema shows provide more enjoyment to watching movies, digital streaming services are more affordable and convenient and people can watch it whenever they had time or want without paying huge amount of money for just one movie.