Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to the new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Cinema has always proved to play a pivotal role in people’s social lives, maintaining cultural ethos within a community and integrating distinct cultures. Unfortunately, in today’s technology-oriented world, with the advent of modern streaming facilities, cinemas are becoming obsolete and old-fashioned, as some say. I tend to concur with the given statement due to some factors, while holding the opinion that cinemas are still prevalent in some societies.

On the one hand, high-tech services enable people to pursue leisure activities from their homes without wasting any time commuting, one of which is going to cinemas. To elaborate, people nowadays mainly lead sedentary lifestyles that preclude them from visiting public buildings. Thus, companies strive to introduce services which offer convenience and do not require any physical activity, thereby boosting their revenues. For example, Netflix is one of the most prominent online streaming platforms that provides its users with high-quality videos depending on subscription type. Therefore, traditional cinemas get closer to the verge of extinction over time as people predominantly opt for such services. Additionally, for the sake of saving money, some people avoid cinemas and look for illegal sites where they can easily watch any film or series.

On the other hand, it should be highlighted that technology does not reach everywhere so as to replace conventional cinema facilities. In underdeveloped countries, using contemporary media platforms is not common because people are not aware of the advantages online platforms bring. These days, such illiterate individuals are called what some consider slaves of the modern era. Furthermore, old people also prioritize cinemas rather than such services as they highly appreciate the deep culture of such attractions. They also believe that cinemas reflect the beauty of a country’s traditions and national ethos, and are tools to delve into foreign cultures.

To sum up, while cinemas have contributed significantly to maintaining national values and experiencing overseas cultures, modern technology has made these places redundant by drawing a lot of users to streaming platforms. However, in some societies, cinemas are still in use and offer satisfactory service, especially to the elderly. I think we must keep them in some areas and should not underrate the influence of cinemas on our culture.