Many people use distance learning programs (study materials, the internet, and so on ) to study at home , but some think that it cannot bring the same benefits of attending school, college or university. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the advancement of technology, nowadays students do not necessarily be in college or university to study its disciplines. By contrast, they can study them at home via the Internet. But as more and more people do home-schooling, some people are afraid that it cannot bring the same advantages of the traditional learning. In my opinion, I agree with this notion to some extent.

On the one hand, distance-learning can bring several benefits in terms of relieving students’ burden. Firstly, students can stay at home to attend courses, Which in a traditional way, they have to commute between schools and homes. Secondly, it enables students to have more freedom to arrange their time for studying and relaxing, and also keep pace with the teachers. For example, if students are lag back the process, they can take more free time to review the previous courses, so they can follow up.

On the other hand, there are more benefits of going to college or university, which distance-learning programs lack. When professors give lectures in the actual classrooms, they can monitor every student to see if they are paying attention. In addition, students can give real time feedbacks to lecturers, so the courses will be more active. What’s more, classmates can make friends with each other, discuss about the class information together and even make study groups that is helpful for their studying.

In conclusion, home-schooling is becoming popular in the world due to the popularity of the Internet and electronics, which concerns many people to think that distance-learning programs cannot bring the alternative upsides of traditional education. In my opinion, while home-schooling makes students lives easier, I believe the downsides of home-schooling outweigh its upsides.