Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that the an important sporting event of the world should be hosted by their country. Others, in contrast, think that the drawbacks would outweigh the benefits if their country is the host country. Although both schools of thought hold merit, I agree more with the latter prospective.

On the one hand, there are some reasons that explain why some people want their country to be the host of a worldwide sporting event. As the world is becoming more and more developed, every country entering the period of economic integration must proof their financial potential. Thus, a sporting event is a opportunity for them to atract sports fans from all over the world, and also is a occasion to promote and strengthen their national culture, which can help increase revenue in many aspects. Take Russia for example, when this country hosted World Cup 2018, millions of Russian cheered with pride while their traditional values were showcased in the opening ceremory.

On the other hand, proponents of the previous view claim that hosting an international sporting event might bring about more problems than benefits. The event attracts thousands of atheles and fans from many different countries, which might lead to the problems of traffic volume and waste pollution. This is harmful to the environment and also affects directly the level of living standards of residents in the host country. Also, the cost for a big event is not small. The government must spend most of funding on the event, including prepartion for the beginning and ending, the accommodation and facilities for foreign athletes. This would mitigate the funding, leading to a lack of financial factor to other fields of the country.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinion on determing whether a country should host an international sporting event or not, I believe that if the country has enough financial potential, they should take use of that event to promote their traditional culture. Accompanying with this, the government should have the regulations to limit the problems of traffic jam and waste pollutio to ensure the residents not be disrupted during the event.