Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Hosting a big international sport event, which is most residents’ desire, may bring lots of benefits, while some people think that there are some setbacks in the process of hosting. I would argue whether it is better to host or not.

There are some drawbacks and obstacles for a country which hosts an international sport event. Firstly, the increase in petty theft can make a bad impression on tourists who come to enjoy these events. Because of attending as spectators, tourists rarely pay attention to their belongings; as a result, their wallets and belongings are robbed. Furthermore, the process of preparing for these events is often demanding. For instance, for the World Cup 2014, it took Brazil 5 years to renovate infrastructure and construct new facilities, including stadiums and indoor areas for athletes, to meet the increasing demand of tourists.

On the other hand, hosting international sport games can stimulate the tourism sector. By being the host, a country is able to attract a number of athletes and their supporters; consequently, it can boost tourism services such as hotels, restaurants, and entertainment. Moreover, because of athletes attending, the host can show mutual respect through lots of traditional activities, cuisine, lifestyles, and specialties. As a result, a strong relationship between those countries is built to improve the economy.

In conclusion, hosting an international sport event has more good aspects than drawbacks; it not only boosts the economy but also strengthens the relationship between those countries. It seems to me that it’s a helpful opportunity for a country which will host a big event.