Many people work from home using modern technology today. Some people think that only the workers benefit from this and not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, Working from home has become more popular than ever. However, another group of people believes this is a one-way winning situation for the employees with no advantage for the employers. This essay disagrees with this opinion as it argues that companies are the biggest winners when it comes to working from home. The main two reasons for this are that working from home allows the workers to be more productive and the employers to save money.

The more productive and innovative a worker is, the more revenue his company earns. Because this style of working does not require the employees to commute daily to their jobs, this saves time and eventually makes them less stressed, which frees their minds and allows more mental focus and more innovation and productivity. For example, a recent study in the UK found that employers were more satisfied with their workers’ performance while they were working from home during the COVID-19 pandemic than their performance before the new working style. Furthermore, they welcomed applying this style in the future and did not turn back to working from the headquarters.

On the other hand, working from home gives employers the ability to hire the best candidates for the job regardless of their country of residence through what is called “remote working” instead of having to pay for visa applications to obtain their services. For instance, there are many software developers from poorer countries who work remotely from their homelands and provide the companies with their knowledge with salaries that are considered lower than what the same people would earn if they were working in rich countries.

In conclusion, despite the fact that working from home is beneficial for workers, its advantages are undeniable for business owners, either by saving money through “out-sourcing” or by making more revenues from the higher productive labor force.