Many people work long hours, leaving very little time with leisure activities. Does this situation have more disadvantages or disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, labor forces are the most essential part of industries for their effective growth. Moreover, most individuals are focusing on overtime work rather than their free time. These circumstances provide both merits and demerits to people. Thus, the following paragraphs will shed light on both approaches before making a final note with relevant examples and reasons.

To begin with, the brighter side of this situation: investing more time on work enhances a person’s monthly income. This helps to fulfill the needs of their children, wife, and themselves, which helps to live a better life. For example, my uncle works for long hours; as a result, he gets more money and is able to satisfy the wants of his family. That is why overworking fosters the capital of workers, directly contributing to financial support and attaining the wills of family members.

On the other hand, leaving insufficient time for leisure pursuits brings some consequences relating to human health and relationships. Firstly, performing spare time activities for a short period damages relations with family, as they will not be able to spend more time with each other. As a result, there will be fewer memories and less conversation among members, which leads employees to have zero knowledge about their son’s, daughter’s, and partner’s situation. Secondly, it also affects the mental and physical health of workers, considering that they are unable to do their jobs to their full potential. For instance, survey taken by the Ministry of Nepal shows that 75% of the people are not able to complete their responsibilities due to less participation in relaxation and recreation. Therefore, psychological and social issues arise from spending few periods on entertainment and amusement.

In conclusion, I personally feel that this condition has more cons than pros. Despite the fact that it increases funds and helps to obtain a proper life for human beings, this notion spoils better physical and intellectual conditions, and the connection between bloodlines too. Hence, for the betterment of society, there should be a balance between work schedules and recreational activities.