Many places in the world rely on tourism as a primary source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, tourism occupies noticeable place in the economy of many countries in the world. Although there are a negative side which include rise in the prices, I believe that advantages such as economic growth, new opportunities of investments, and introduction the culture of a host country would be far more considerable.

Opponents of this tendency argues that accepting many tourists cause the inflation. As an economic rule prices increase as demand go up. Many guests mean an increase in the demand as each tourist consumes and purchases local products and services. For example, every single traveler needs an accommodation to stay, to visit local restaurants and cafes to eat. The boost in the number of demands can encourage local entrepreneurs to increase their prices which leads to the inflation. Ultimately, this can impact local people as it will result in the increase of their expenses.

Being a host country to people with different backgrounds from around the world can bring benefits. Guests who visit a country spend considerable amount of money in order to see around, to enjoy local dishes, to buy souvenirs which lead to the improvement of local businesses. It is much more possible that there are foreign investors among guests who can be interested in investing their funds in a country they visit as they find out new business opportunities. Moreover, a host country is being introduced to the foreigners with its culture, traditions and food. In its turn, tourists will share their memories and thoughts when they are back to their home countries and this stream makes a host country well-known.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of tourism would appear less significant than the potential advantages for the host countries. I suggest the authorities to take steps to gain benefits of tourism by controlling the artificial increase in prices.