Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of students willing to choose science as their major is declining in many countries. This may be attributed to challenges in this career and a desire to an immidiate success by the students. A number of steps can be taken to encourage more candidates to study science.

There are two main contributing factors for this trend. One is, of course, possible difficulties applicants might face during the whole worklife. Not being similar to other Art majors, the unpopular field is considered to be full of hardships and challenges in all the aspects. Most young adults tend to avoid complexity in their future profession, which is why their commonly turning to far more easier spheres. The ambition that many students have to achieve success in nearest future is the another motive that is driving them off choosing science. From the major cases known for job-hunters on the career of science people, all have a conventional wisdom about whose good days arrived after decades of hard work, as has been the case in many scholars such as Newton an Mendeleev. Few students might have patience to wait fame in their future career in science, as a result, most of faculties lag their annual entrollment for their Science departments.

Many ways have been suggested to address this issue so far, yet offering various scholarships by universities around the world would be more feasible to attract more talented, albeit underprevileged, students in this field. There are numerous gifted ones who have to choose any career for the sake of income to assisst their families, despite the desire and capability to carve a niche in scientific world. By providing them with suffcient budget to study and support their basic needs, universities will be able to not only increase the science-studying students, but impove their prestigious status with the help of achievements of their alumni. Following this, the goverments should create special projects aiming possible breakthrough in many areas such as engineering or physics that invest millions of dollors, or else be directed to some less important social events or sport competitions. Under no circumstances may they lose face if only deserving ones collaborate in such grants. At most, the society will benefit from the fruit of those projects.

To sum up, there are decreasing numbers in the applicants of science majors in many countries. While the main two, but not limited, reason for this are being stated, scholarships and state-level grants can be straightforward to find a resolution for this issue