Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The modern educational landscape has significantly altered, with the traditional trajectory of pursuing tertiary education right after graduation becoming less prominent than before. Concurrently, this comes with an emerging trend of students taking a gap year, either for travelling or working. While the drawbacks are valid, my perspective is that this trend is a net positive, provided that individuals engage in careful planning and consideration.

The merits of temporarily staying away from university stem from students’ practical considerations. First of all, travelling enables a person to explore exotic cultures and immerse in a breadth of new ideas, lifestyles, and customs. These experiences translate well into pragmatic approaches of self-development, making individuals more globalized and open-minded. Furthermore, prohibitive tuition fees can render education inaccessible to many, especially students with disadvantaged backgrounds. Taking a gap year to work, from this perspective, not only provides sufficient financial capacity to afford their education but also enables them to accumulate hands-on experience and hone practical skills. The once-dominant linear educational path without disruption has lost ground to more utilitarian approaches to education where suspension yields immediate results.

However, procrastinating tertiary education is not without drawbacks. One major criticism lies in risks of losing studying motivation and short-sightedness, where students prioritize short-term gains of working or travelling over the long-term values of education. This is especially true with part-time student workers, who are more likely to be tempted by attractive salaries and bonuses to delay, later abandon their studies. In addition, many of the jobs available to students, ranging from waiters, receptionists, to sales representatives, have limited career prospects and room for advancement. It is specialized knowledge acquired from classroom settings that empowers students with broader, more lucrative options in the long run.

In my view, taking a gap year can be overall advantageous if the decisions are based on careful planning, rather than being arbitrary ones. This involves weighing both advantages and disadvantages before making the final verdict and devising contingencies to mitigate risks, if any. In this respect, seeking advice from parents and teachers is necessary to minimize impulsiveness and optimism bias. Essentially, a “gap” in education is just a temporary absence, not a permanent abandonment that would later come at greater expenses.

In conclusion, suspending education so as to work or travel can reap immediate, practical benefits to individuals. However, disinclination to fulfill the educational goals can come with much more profound costs in the long run. It is important for students to make decisions on the basis of prudence and consideration so that their choices can be a complement, not a hindrance to future success in academic pursuit.