Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, taking a gap year after graduation from high school is gaining attraction, becoming one of the controversial topics. In my view, the disadvantages of a gap year outweigh its advantages

Primarily, a gap year might be helpful for high school students to spare enough time to consider their life plan because subjects that university students major in can affect their future occupations. For example, in the current Japanese educational system, students have to decide their majors before enrolling in universities. This means they are enforced to decide which industries they will pursue their careers as major subjects at university and the future job is deeply related to each other. Therefore, a gap year is suitable to spend extra time outside schools and accumulate experiences which can broaden their perspectives, allowing them to make life-changing decisions.

On the contrary, some people often mention its drawbacks. A significant downside is the value of taking a gap year can be depending on individual’s motivation. Without any detailed plans, they might waste their valuable time, such as playing video games at home or hanging out with their friends every day. If there were proper support, it could be significantly difficult to maintain their motivation to make their efforts to accomplish something that can positively influence them.

Personally, I disagree with spending a-year-long period before entering university. This is because I expect that going back to study after a gap year is tough. A lot of students establish their study habits throughout their high school lives, which are easily forgettable during taking a year off from studies. In addition, it is scientifically said learning ability starts dropping after 20 years old due to the aging change of brain. This shows the early start of study is recommended, especially in the case in which students hope to study medicine or laws which require inputting a great deal of knowledge.

In conclusion, the value of a gap year is significantly affected by students’ motivation and efforts, although travel and work experience before going on to university might cause a dramatic shift in individual life plans. In addition, this system requires additional consideration that students might miss the peak of study ability.