Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people's lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. In this task you should: Explain the first point of view Explain the second point of view Add your opinion

Some believe that adolescence is the happiest period of one’s life, while others believe that adulthood brings great joy and independence. This essay will explore both arguments.

A popular opinion is that young people have more freedom as they are unburdened by financial responsibilities. Their parents take care of all their monetary needs, so most teenagers are free to explore different hobbies and lifestyles without worrying about rent or utilities. Traditionally, most parents are extremely supportive of their children’s hobbies, encouraging and providing opportunities they never had. In contrast, adults are bound by responsibilities of themselves or their family, thus are unable to take up new hobbies or take risks in life. Working and paying taxes are mandatory, leading to a monotonous and dull life.

Conversely, people are of the view that adulthood equates to more freedom and independence. Aside from financial obligations of bills, rent, or taxes, adults have financial freedom. They can pursue their interests and hobbies, leading to an overall happier life, while teenagers need the permission and support of their guardians for most things, leading to unhappiness.

In conclusion, while some might say that adulthood provides financial freedom and more social mobility, I believe being a teenager means less food on your plate and more support from family, culminating a more carefree life.