Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, some adolescents tend to take a year off after graduation from high school because they believe the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. This essay discusses both positive and negative aspects of taking a gap year before tertiary education.

There are several advantages to postponing entry to university. Firstly, a gap year could be an opportunity to widely expand a young adult’s view and to build a connection between the world and them through new experiences such as work, travel, making a bond with people outside of school. If they have broad experience, it will strengthen them to deal with difficult situations in college and in their life. Moreover, it might be an adequate time to consider or set their own future vision without being aligned by parental desire and social ambitions. Once setting a purpose or perspective for their future, learning at university will be a more meaningful achievement.

On the other hand, a gap year could also be a challenge for some since there are several disadvantages to doing it. First of all, there is a risk of mental issues due to a feeling of less belonging. If people who put off their advanced studying lack manners and ineffectiveness of communication in a new place, it may be hard to develop new relationships or to maintain their former ones. At extreme, they could be in depression and lose motivation. At minimum, they may feel socially isolated, lonely or regret their decisions. Secondly, they might not aim to enter the university due to discouragement from financially, mentally and socially stress.

In conclusion, I believe that reaping the benefits of taking a gap year before university has a more profound impact on their long term life despite possible challenges. In a way, decisions need to be carefully considered on both sides.