Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Generally, most students continue to have the degree after they graduate from school or college. Otherwise, some adults want to spend more time traveling or working, to get more experience and self-reflection. I will discuss this idea in the essay. Is it a good idea or a waste of time?

After graduation, learners often take trips to relax or release stress, to think about their next journey clearly and efficiently, and to foster self-awareness. Sometimes, they need an additional vocation to observe their interest and talents. Other students need to work more to understand their skills. During this time, they become aware of their self-needs and the field in which they should spend time developing a career. Moreover, In this free time, they can gain more knowledge from society and the workplace. Interpersonal relationships are an essential skill to integrate into society and these competencies can make them successful in the job market.

Spending the gap year on travel or entertainment from headaches of examination is common nowadays. Otherwise, some students spend excessive time on pleasurable. As a result, they waste time on enjoyment that should translate into gained knowledge or experience. Sometimes, they spend time with the wrong people who will persuade them to the wrong path and do unnecessary stuff, which would cause worse results in their future. Therefore, they will only get unnecessary experiences and won’t gain any knowledge for their university life. Additionally, they can spend their time on unnecessary work and can’t integrate with the subject in their field.

In conclusion, The students who use their gap year to gain more knowledge and work experience will get better results in their university life. Otherwise, If they spend that time only on enjoyment, it will be a waste of time.