Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

In today’s world, many students choose not to go immediately to university after finishing high school. This gap year has its advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will highlight some of the benefits and their drawbacks.

Taking a gap year before university can be a positive attitude for some students, especially for those who do not have certainty about the subject they want to pursue at university. This period can offer a valuable resource by helping them navigate through the options available. For example, they can use this time to travel around the world or even start working as a volunteer at some company. Furthermore, traveling abroad will give them the chance to experience new cultures and languages. Many of them often find their vocational area work, such as voluntary work in remote areas, helping with the construction of schools or even working as volunteers at hospitals. These experiences give them more clarity about their prospective future job. Another example is for those who have decided to work at a well-known company. These profit companies have strict rules and schedule. It will help the youngest discipline and commitment when they start university.

However, it is true that most students use their time productively, some of them may not be that conscious about the purpose of this gap year. If it is not used wisely, it can be detrimental to their future. As an example, if they do not use this time correctly instead of wasting on irrelevant things such as parties and gathering with friends, it will result in loss of discipline and commitment. As a consequence, they will have difficulty following the university rules or even finishing the tasks that are given to them.

In conclusion, a gap year after school has many benefits if it is used wisely, otherwise it can be a burden and have significant negative effects on students. The youngest need to use it carefully, and it does not mean that this time should not be enjoyable, but it’s crucial for them to plan it correctly.