Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been considerable debate over why an increasing number of students consider it tougher to learn at university or college than at school. As far as I am concerned, this trend is attributed to various factors, and a multifaceted approach is required to tackle this challenge.

First and foremost, the guidance and instructions from teachers are a crucial driver which influences individuals’ learning patterns. Different from the teaching at school, the university study requests students to acquire expertise and skills more independently, as it is impossible for professors and tutors to regulate students, ensuring that they truly understand the knowledge. For instance, as indicated by numerous scientific studies, when individuals change to a different mode of learning, they might feel it challenging to master the knowledge.

Moreover, college environment also plays a significant role in leading to this issue, as university life is populated with a variety of extracurricular activities, which take up students’ limited time. Taking some universities in China for an example, in order to develop students’ all-rounded techniques, certain universities encourage students to attend outdoor events, even taking these engagement as necessary for graduation.

To address this issue, the government and educational institutions ought to take actions to assist students from middle school to adjust to new environment, which means they can cultivate middle school students the awareness of independent learning prior to undergraduate journey. Furthermore, the college students themselves should not fail to shoulder the responsibility for their academic performance and future careers, and balance the time allocated to study, work and leisure activities.

In conclusion, the shift of learning pattern and environment contributes to the study problem at at university or college. A comprehensive strategy which involves governmental actions, institutions’ assistance and personal effort is essential for ensuring that students can adjust to new environment and lead a marvellous campus life.