Many studies show that poor people are more likely to be involved in petty and serious crimes than people who come from higher-income groups. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In contemporary world, crime rates seen to be rising recently as compared to the past particularly in areas where they have the greatest potential to kill people. Numerous studies indicate that the wealthy class is not the primary cause of such crimes; rather, most crimes is perpetrated by lower-income groups. I partially agree with this statement owing to some reasons which will be elaborate in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, out of all arguments the strongest one to prove my assert is concept of basic human needs; to put it simply, lower class people have limited income source primarily due to inadequate educational attainment and lower paying rates. Consequently, they may engage in criminal activities such as robbery, killing people, violence and many more, to earn lots of money as fast as they can, for desperate attempt to fulfil their fundamental requirements. Moreover, due to lack of education they are unable to recognize whether they are going on right path of life.

However, it is also important to note that rich people also involve in these kinds of crimes due to addition of drugs and influence of negative peer company because lack of proper family directions. Sometimes affluent people engage in crimes such as drug trafficking, fraud and other illegal activities because their high status provide them with access to legal, political and social resources that can facilitate such behaviours.

In conclusion, I believe that both petty and cruel acts are now being committed by individuals from both rich and the poor. Perhaps the government should intervene to address this issue in order to rid our society of the bad actors and improve living conditions for everybody.