Many studies show that poor people are more likely to be involved in petty and serious crimes than people who come from higher-income groups. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A number of studies point out that individuals in poverty tend to commit petty and serious crimes more than wealthy people. Although socio-economic status plays a significant role in that statement, I strongly disagree with this view since there are more vital factors such as genetic tendency and environments.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that socio-economic status can direct people to committing crime. This is because some people cannot earn the basic amount of money which allows them to actualize their fundamental necessities such as housing or eating. Therefore, such people tend to prefer this money illegally since there is not a system where people can afford their basic actions without any cost. However, this assumption represents only a limited number of people.

On the other hand, I fully believe that committing crime mostly depends on genetic tendency and environment parameters, which have a decisive impact on determining people’s character. A baby is born with some characteristic tendency and in the following few years after birth, this tendency is reinforced, and it essentially shapes their character.

If someone’s character tends to be wild or has a lack of empathy and is likely to act considering only their interests, resulting in a full pragmatist attitude. After a certain period, they may break the law as they hurt someone or commit theft. As a result, characteristic features are decisive when someone decides to commit a crime.

In conclusion, poverty can make individuals commit a crime due to lack of opportunities; however I firmly believe that characteristic determinants such as genetic tendency and environment have far more significant impact on criminal activities.