Many studies show that poor people are more likely to be involved in petty and serious crimes than people who come from higher-income groups. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Numerous studies have concluded that poor unfortunates people are more likely to be involved in both silly and serious crimes than their counterparts from well off social groups. Personally I’m inclined to agree with this view, and in this essay I’m going to explain why.

One primary reason these people are more likely to commit crime includes poor education, economical strains and personal hardships. They live hand to mouth, and for them everyday is a struggle for survival by any means. Some of them end up committing silly crimes like shoplifting, others do more ugly and unspeakable crimes, each according to their level of desperation and education.

In contrast, Higher income earners usually posses job stability, enough wealth and higher levels of education. This is to say, they don’t face same challenges and pressures to survive, there is simply no reason to commit such crimes and for them the risk is even higher. For example, if a business man was to commit shoplifting his image would be forever ruined, in contrast a random poor guy shoplifting may go unnoticed.

To conclude, I believe both views got merits, but after carefully reviewing the current research, it’s clear that poverty leads the poor to commit more crimes than higher incomes earners, and I support with this view whole-heartedly