Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion #religion #

While it is argued by some that the study of religion ought to be included in schools curriculum, others advocate against it. From my perspective, Religion is an integral part of our lives and their studies should be imparted in schools to enlighten students regarding good values and religiously accepted and disapproved practices.

On the one hand, it is a possibility that the study of theology can confuse young minds. Certain tenants of religion are often against human intellect and are the commandments of God that human cannot get the gest of them with their limited knowledge. Therefore, they might start developing skepticism, and this can be counter-productive. Moreover, as students have limited exposure to facts, their self derived understandings can develop extremist tendencies. For Instance, in many countries, by inculcating the teachings of hardliners scholars, we have witness the rise in religious intolerance and a divide in the society.

On the other hand, however, the moderate version of theological sermons designed for children is vital for establishing a balance in the society. Teachers appraise their pupil regarding religiously desirable traits that is essential for the smooth functioning of the societal system. For example, by explaining the drawbacks of lying, theft, and other social wrongs, individuals will always try to avoid them for the good of the general public. Furthermore, another obvious advantage of this approach would be they will study science through the prism of religion. And, it would help them to stick to their beliefs and not to be distracted by currently available vast array of information.

In conclusion, although a section of the public argue against the inclusion of religion in their school studies, I believe that they should be made part of their scheme of studies because it help to learn good things essential for the survival of the society.