Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion #religion #

It is true that many countries in the world include religion as a mandatory subject in schools. However, some people argue that religion should be removed from the curriculum. This essay does not agree that teaching religion should be banned in schools because it helps educate students on cultural differences (and will discuss both sides…)

On the one hand, those who support teaching religion argue that students who learn about different religious beliefs can also learn more about cultural diversity. Students who are interested in social and global issues need to understand the impact of religion on history, laws, politics, and cultures. Acknowledging an array of aspects about the world broadens one’s horizons. For example, when I was a student in St. Joseph Convent School, there were many students who were not Catholic but practiced Buddhism, Muslim, and even Orthodox. This encourages students to understand and respect each other’s differences about religious beliefs.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why some people are concerned about teaching religion. Some schools can be biased and indoctrinate students about a particular religion. There have been cases of devout Christian schools that brainwash students into hating other religions. According to the U.S Department of Justice, it has been reported that the percentage of hate crimes has increased significantly due to religious bias. Many violent hate crimes are school-age, nearly one in five were under 18 years old. This is why teaching religion with reasonable criticism can prevent students from a brainwashing process.

In summary, lectures about religion should be taught with reason and without bias which can have a positive effect on students and society. In my opinion, learning to accept different beliefs can make students become respectful members of society.