Many traditional festivals are being commercialised and turned into entertainment events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that many traditional festivals are being commercialised and transformed into entertainment-focused events. Although this trend can bring people together and raise awareness of the rich cultural diversity of different ethnic groups in Kazakhstan, it can also lead to the loss of traditional values. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, celebrating traditional festivals may give rise to bringing people from different cultures together, as well as promoting understanding of a wide range of cultures, strengthening social bonds. For instance, there are more than 130 nations in Kazakhstan and indigenous people celebrate Nauryz, where people from different nationalities come together, providing an opportunity to learn about Kazakh culture. Moreover, diasporas in Kazakhstan, including the Russian community, observe festivals such as Maslenitsa and Easter, offering a chance for individuals to experience and appreciate the cultural traditions of another community.

On the other hand, frequent cultural events or commercialisation of festivals may negatively affect traditions. Regular celebration can lead to depreciation of festivals, which may result in the loss of the original meaning of traditions. For example, some aspects of Nauryz can turn into the public concerts than a meaningful cultural rituals, reducing their original significance. This may result in loss of cultural heritage, causing the risk of decline of cultural identity.

In conclusion, commercialisation of traditional festivals plays a significant role in uniting people together and respecting other cultures. Despite the potential risk of losing a cultural heritage, I believe that benefits outweigh the drawbacks.