Many universities now offer online degree programs. Some believe that online education is as effective as traditional classroom learning, while others argue that it lacks the social interaction and practical experience necessary for a well-rounded education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The landscape of higher education has gone through a radical transformation thanks to the rise of telecommunication and worldwide interconnectedness in the contemporary age, shifting from lecture-hall based teaching methods to more flexible, home-office learning style.

With the rise of asynchronous teaching methods, more and more people access knowledge on a worldwide basis. While on-site education require students to focus their time to their studies, online classes grant opportunities to scholars that would otherwise not be able to attend. Workers, parents or athletes whose do not have the sufficient time to make room for an campus-based degree program now can study at their own pace. This is supported by the fact that studies has shown that graduates in the EU consider choosing between possible degrees based on how well they can work alongside their program.

On the contrary, pyhsical attendance help form lifelong friendships, especially when people are forced to overcome problems, which an university degree consicts of.In similar fashion, social gatherings are a crucial part of students life, where they are able to network and form professional relationships, which can push their career ahead. Furthermore, most degrees only benefit from hands-on experience, namely lab experiments or physical presentations, which push the boundaries of all stundents.

In my opinion, both methods are unquestionably working, there is not a single way of higher education. In other words, a well-rounded degree program should consits online taught classes, where the topics are mainly theoretical and can be mastered at home, and in-person training which showcase the pracital skills neccessary for the given program.