Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is seen that many students tend to travel to another city or country to pursue higher eduction. Whilst a group of individuals regards this as a negative trend, others argue that it is greatly beneficial to the students. Nevertheless, I believe that studying abroad has more merits than demerits due to the significant improvement it has on the students’ minds and life. This essay is going to demonstrate both views regarding this matter.

First and foremost, living away from the family transferes students’ personalities and mindsets. Being the only one who is reponsible for home bills, life problems, and study, forces the university student to confront and deal with every issue arises; thereby, his/her charactor get shaped properly and strongly to cope with life changes and difficulties. For instance, I have read on a British magazine that 70% of those who have taken big responsibitly at a young age are likely to have better adaptation when facing real crisis in life. However, a question must be opposed, is this the full story?

On the other hand, opponents cite this a narrow sighted point of view because of the real mental struggle such students face. They mosly are alone or around strangers; thereby, there is a high possiblity of suffering from homesickness and isolation; therein, lies the problem of having depression the anxiety. For example, I know a friend who has taken the decision to return home after 2 years of studying out side the country as she was dealing with intense panic attacks.

To wrap up, whether leaving your home to complete your educational years has more advantages or disadvantages will remain a topic of debate among people. However, I consider travelling to study is a viable option, particularlly to those who are able to handle the drawbacks since it will create a better version of you.