Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many university students move away from their families to pursue higher education, whereas others prefer to stay with their kin even after enrolling in a college. This essay will focus on discussing the advantages and disadvantages of both situations.

First situation can bring about many benefits for students, who find themselves in it. For instance, young people, who live away from their parents, are more likely to become self-sufficient and independent faster. This is due, in part, to their need to part with parental care and take responsibility for themselves and their residence. For instance, my cousin who studied abroad, demonstrated higher levels of responsibility and social awareness than his siblings. Furthermore, higher education students who study abroad have access to better quality education as they are not restricted to only their local institutions. In my country, for example, higher degree institutes are still developing and graduating from one would not be as beneficial as studying abroad. However, independence and detachment from parental control can lead curious youth towards taking a wrong path, as no one would stop them from indulging in hazardous activities, such as gambling or drugs.

On the other hand, staying with your next-of-kin while studying at a college is in many ways opposite to the previous situation. First, being by their parents’ side can be a good measure to prevent indulging in an unhealthy lifestyle and to stay focused on studies. My uncle, for instance, stayed with his family while attending a university, subsequently achieving higher results than his sister. Furthermore, staying with your relatives reinforce familial and cultural bonds in students, which goes a long way towards preserving the customs and traditions of their culture. Regardless of its advantages this situation also introduces some disadvantages for students who decide to walk this path. One of the key downsides of it is reduced independence and self-sufficiency. Often, if children stay with their parents for too long, after reaching adulthood, they fail to become self-sufficient later in life.

To conclude, both situations have their upsides and downsides, and it is up to every single person to decide what is better for them. For me, however, the advantages of the first situation outweigh possible drawbacks, as I value independence and the possibility of getting an internationally recognised degree.