Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialise with others. This can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

It is an irrefutable claim that unsupervised access to the internet itself and usage of it as socialization place with others might be perilous for young ones. There are several factors relating to why it is vicious, including cyberbullying or unrestricted access to web-sites offering illegal services or content. Fortunately, there are some methods which could offer solutions to aforementioned problems.

As it was previously noted, some ordeal problems could be engendered for children while accessing internet without parental control. One of the most frequently experienced from those is cyberbullying – getting oppressed and disrespected by unknown bullies who scoff at victim, entailing eclectic methodologies like usage of anormal lexicon or threats – being widely used in online videogames. Cyberbullying, although happening not in the real-life, might have consequences as severe and life-threating as those of real-life bullying. For instance, it could instigate oppressed one to commit suicide, because he or she cannot take that much of it so for them the only way to end persistently getting bullied is, unfortunately, to end their lives, become emotionless, or introvert by mindset alteration. Another reason is related to the fact that internet is not confined, meaning anyone, namely little ones, can access any information any time with no one acknowledged about this. It can be, therefore, extremely haphazard as internet may provide an access to web-sites offering illegal services – alcohol, drugs, weapon delivery, contrived assassination, and etc. – or mature content.

Luckily, it is possible to eschew those problems and establish security for youth. Firstly, regular parental discussions about how to act while being cyberbullying to not exacerbate the situation, or teach children to show negligence towards such violation, because retaliation would be the most egregious action against bullies as it would only enrapture them. Secondly, as it comes to solution for eluding children to gaining access to illegal web-sites, parents could set up confinement to the devices that will block any activity endeavoring to enter them.

To reiterate, access to the internet without having parental control might lead to life-threating consequences. While the outcomes might be extremely concerning and even irresolvable, the simple steps, namely parental talk or restrictions for certain web-sites, might be taken upfront in order to preempt them.