Many young people are spending much time on computers, which makes them less active. What are the reasons? What are some solutions?

Since the invention of personal computers (PC) they have been being used widely on a daily basis. Especially the youth utilize computers a lot making themselves less active and lazy. In this essay I will explore the roots of it and measures that can be taken to solve this dilemma.

Admittedly, there are numerous reasons of why young individuals waste their time using their computers. First thing is social connection. Now it is accessible for everyone to keep in touch with anybody all over the world thanks to computers, so young people use social media, messaging apps, and online games to stay connected with friends and catch up new people. Another thing is entertainment purposes, such as watching videos or movies on social platforms, playing video games, both solo and multiplayer, like Fortnite, Minecraft or Among us.

Nevertheless, there are solutions too. To keep in touch with fellows, children can arrange meetings or go somewhere together, they can even organize group hangouts like sports, study groups, or hobbies. Moreover, parents should take action, by going somewhere as a family, giving more attention to their child’s actions and do things together. Instead of playing computer games or watching videos, films the youth should do outdoor activities to maintain a healthy lifestyle getting rid of sedentary one, boost mental well-being, enhance social skills or even develop creativity. For instance, they can play team games, encompassing street soccer, basketball, volleyball, capture the flag, red rover and other street games.

Ultimately, an increasing number of humans, especially the youth are wasting their free time utilizing their PC too much, and this is because of social interaction (online), entertainment purposes. However, they should do activities together outside the screen, play street games to be more sociable, and parents should also take care of it.