Many young people do not know how to manage their money when graduating high school. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to teach them this important skill?

Many high school graduates have difficulty in practising money management. In my view, this is due to both a lack of life skills and experience, and a failure of the education system. I believe that integrating parental guidance with monetary literacy courses in high school would provide students with practical knowledge on how to handle their money as adults.

One reason why numerous teenagers are financially illiterate is that they are studying full time and living at home for free. Consequently, they do not have a earn a living, make savings, or pay a bill, which lack of knowledge may lead to problems in the future such as debt accumulation. Another reason is that schools do not have lessons on financial management in their curriculum, focusing instead on the classics, such as maths, history, science, amongst others. This means that essential life skills are not being taught by either parents or teachers.

To address these challenges, proactive measures such as promoting early financial responsibility at home and classroom engagement can be adopted. For example, parents could take their children shopping and actively engage them in making household budgeting decisions. Additionally, they could give them pocket money based on how many household chores they perform and help them to budget responsibly and teach them the value of having savings. As for school, lessons on life skills could be made a compulsory part of the schedule and include learning about spending and saving. By adopting this two pronged approach, children will be better prepared for their future adult lives.

In conclusion, equipping young people with money management skills is crucial for their long-term financial well-being. In my view, it is imperative that educators and parents collaborate to provide the necessary resources and support to empower the next generation to thrive financially.