Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen and what are the solutions?

It is true that when many adolescents leave school, they often have a negative attitude toward studying. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon and then offer some feasible solutions to it.

There are a number of factors responsible for why young people may have a negative attitude toward learning. Chief among these is that too many examinations can make students have an adverse mindset toward studying. To specify, many exams have been and are organized by many global schools in order to evaluate students’ abilities, meaning that many young people are under pressure due to many tests in their studies. For instance, in Vietnam, some schools often organize entrance exams to classify students for class placement, and high-performing students will be studied in more affectionate classes. This can make them feel inferior and unsatisfied when receiving bad results, even if they spent much time and effort studying. Additionally, the learning environment can be one of the reasons for this. To clarify, many teachers and schools usually teach their students theoretically heavy knowledge, with no practical applications, and thus many students lose interest in learning and think that financial success is more valuable than education. Consequently, many teenagers choose to silently drop out of school and do not want to return to study.

Various measures, however, can be adopted by the government and teachers to tackle the situation. The first possible approach is that the government should introduce a new law to limit tests in the study process and launch campaigns to orient students. This can bring opportunities for more time and more chances to discover and develop themselves. The second solution is that education systems must be revised and updated to suit this 4.0 era. Many developed countries, such as Denmark, have conducted feasibility operations for educational reform and have managed to succeed in a smooth transformation of their education systems. They have updated the curriculum, improved the physical condition of schools and classrooms, and focused on students’ motivation and well-being as a top priority.

In conclusion, several reasons can be given for why many young people who drop out of school are likely less motivated to learn and express a negative attitude. However, I believe that steps can be taken to alleviate the circumstances.