Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen and what are the solutions?

There is growing concern over some graduated youngsters who have a strong aversion towards learning. This situation is a culmination of several contributing factors, but there are measures that could be adopted to solve them.

One of the primary contributing factors to this predicament is the low quality of infrastructure in the learning environment. Students can quickly become exhausted after spending long hours studying, thus inadequate services at school such as dirty restrooms, insufficient lighting, lack of cooling equipment, and poorly functional classrooms will lead to their loss of interest in learning. To address this, one solution is for the school principal or administrator to raise funds to encourage parents’ involvement in upgrading the infrastructure, while also having a clear explanation to emphasize the benefits of students not for profiteering. This is not only to help the school have the financial assistance, but also foster parent’s concern about the learning environment of youngsters.

Another culprit of the negative feelings about learning from graduates is the toxic peer environment in schools. These days, some students do not show appropriate manners in school, and they often engage in some deviant activities such as smoking, bullying or gambling. As a consequence, many students are hesitant to go to school as they are scared of being physically affected and involved in some unwanted troubles. One possible measure here is that the students who oppose these negative behaviours in school should speak up to the school administrators who should guarantee student’s personal information security. Therefore, there will be more suitable approaches such as ethics classes or punishment to educate some bad students and cultivate a better learning environment.

In conclusion, while negative attitudes towards learning is a common problem among graduated youngsters, it can easily be bridged if appropriate actions are taken by the school administrators and students. Having said that, it depends on suitable school policies to create a good environment for students to learn enthusiastically and effectively.