Mental health concerns are a growing issue for many people around the world. What are some reasons for poor mental health, and what can governments do to support citizens' mental health?

The majority of people throughout the world are suffering from the health issues related to their mental well-being. Although peer pressure and poor living conditions are the primary reasons for this mental damage, I firmly believe that governments can help mitigate these concerns by taking comprehensible steps.

There are many mental health problems people are struggling with, one of which is the pressure from peers. People, particularly adolescents, may directly suggest their new peer engage in a specific behavior. For example, it is not uncommon to see some teenagers starting to smoke or drink at an early age, mainly because of the pressure given by other youngsters. However, governments can alleviate this concern by running community and partnership programs to provide a support network for adults. “Community-Based Adult Protection Committees” in Japan can be a standout example. This program involves mostly parents, teachers, and local authorities, creating a safe environment for teenagers.

Indigent conditions of some people in a country can be another factor that is driving people to become mentally unhealthy. Being unnecessarily poor, people care too much about covering their basic needs. Consequently, they are likely to be exposed to Schizophrenia, a severe mental disorder characterized by emotional responsiveness and social conditions. Nevertheless, it is governments that can help individuals tackle their problems with paucity. Perhaps, they should raise public awareness in order to take care of the poor, homeless, and disabled. More attention to their living conditions can help people feel less isolated and stressed, being more satisfied about their lives.

In conclusion, it is true that mental issues are becoming the main problem for many, with negative peer pressure and poverty being common factors. Nonetheless, with the help of collaborative programs and public awareness created by the governments, people can cope with their mental concerns altogether.