Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

In this modern world, modern technologies such as phones are consuming most of our time and it is impossible to imagine our life without mobile phones especially internet. However many elderly people spend less time on the internet rather than young adults even though it might affect our life positively.

Initially, many old people feel their self very lonely. In these days many young adults are really busy because of their work, and cannot spend enough time for their parents. In that case mobile phones and the internet can help keep in touch with their peers or surfing the net in order for boredom and loneliness to be avoided. Moreover, many young adults study or work abroad to gain better education or higher salaries. In such situations, mobile phones and the Internet help them stay connected with their parents, if so these new technologies can be solution for this kind of people because in this new era they can talk face to face by some apps such as Whatsapp, telegram and instagram.

On the other hand, even though elderly people can have the benefits from cell phones and the internet they prefer not to use it. They struggle or cannot use them properly by their own so they do not like to use them. In order to prevent this condition we have to spend enough time to teach them how to use or we should organize some groups and classes for showing how useful they are. Subsequently more old people start to use. Furthermore elderly people usually live alone and do not have anyone who can buy them a phone. They cannot afford to buy them. The government should give discounts and bonus for elderly people whenever they want to buy mobile phones. This could be an effective way to encourage elderly people to use new technologies.

In conclusion, lone people and elderly parents whose children study or work abroad can use mobile phones and the internet effectively and explaining the structure of phones or making them affordable for old people can be the solution to stimulate to use them.