Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considere to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children .What are its causes and what solutions can be offered

Nowadays obesity is a reason for concern not only for adults, but for children also. A large percentage of children have this disease. This essay will cover possible causes and solutions.

Firstly, the contributing factor for obesity among young people is fast food. As rates of fast food production are increasing it becomes harder to not consume it in your daily life. For example some schools in the US have fast food in their menu for pupils, forcing them to eat unhealthy food on a regular basis and develop bad habits. Secondly, the next main reason for being overweight among young people is sedentary life and outdoor activities. If modern life is compared to life in the past, it is manifest that living became more convenient and less demanding for physical efforts. Before the internet existed, the young were forced to go out with their friends or maybe siblings to not get bored. But it is not the case for today, because now with the existence of computers, mobile phones and other gadgets, it is possible to be entertained without leaving house, especially in the cities.

The first solution is to surround the young with more healthy food to prevent the risk of having excessive weight. It can be done by producing more and various types of healthy food and filling every possible place where food is sold with this healthy meal. Japan can be provided as an example, as fresh and high-quality food is accessible and deeply ingrained in the culture causing low obesity rates. The next possible solution is to open more free sports clubs and build professional gyms in schools to encourage more people to do sport. By doing that students will have more opportunities to keep fit and lose weight.

To conclude, overweight is a widespread problem that affects young people’s lives in a negative way, which can be solved by rebuilding food systems around healthy food and opening more affordable sports clubs and gyms in schools.