Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered? What is your view? Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a rise in the incidence of certain diseases among children today that were hitherto exclusive to adults. Foremost among them is obesity. In this essay, I will explore how sedentary routines and unhealthy dietary patterns have been the major culprits in the obesity pandemic and advocate for the promotion of physical activity and balanced nutrition as effective measures to halt the trend.

One of the primary contributors to childhood obesity is the adoption of unhealthy dietary habits. Modern children often gravitate towards consuming foods that are high in saturated fats and sugar, largely due to their palatable taste but poor nutritional value. This is not helped by the prevalence of convenience foods by time-pressed parents, further worsening the picture. In addition, the sedentary lifestyle embraced by children of our modern society significantly contributes to their becoming overweight. For instance, children nowadays would rather play computer games than participate in outdoor physical activities like soccer, athletics, basketball and so on. Research conducted by Harvard University in the USA in 2020 highlighted that, compared to four decades ago, the time expended on physical activities by children today has nosedived dramatically.

Given the above causes of obesity among the children of today, I am convinced that immediate actions must be taken to combat this situation. Priority should be given to healthy lifestyles. Parents would have to play a pivotal role in this adventure. They should actively encourage their children to engage in regular physical exercise such as brisk walking, jogging during weekends or even walking to school on certain days during the week as a passive way to exercise their bodies. These will minimise their sedentary pursuits such as watching movies and playing video games.

In conclusion, the escalating prevalence of obesity among children in our present era can be attributed to undue physical inactivity and poor dietary choices. This can be mitigated by instilling healthy behaviours and attitudes towards physical activity and nutrition in children.