Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive the government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In todays modern world, as the society progesses, specific professional needs have emerged and posed numberous issues relating to workforces in many countries. While the proponents claimed that the government funding should be spent meet the demend of today’s workforce, the opponent suggested that such spending strategy would widen the gap between the rich and the poor. This essays will discuss both views before proving that the above-mentioned strategy can bring about significant benefits to the society and that these benefits will outweight any accompanied drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is believed that the role of the governments should be narrowing down society’s gap, particularly the distance between the wealthy and the poor. In this case, investing only in demanding fields may not help the goverments to achieve such purpose. To specify, since the specialists are usually entiled to receive high incomes, it is more reasonable to give out financial aids as loans. In this fashion, as people become specialist and be qualified to high earnings, they will be required to refund the financial aid. As a result, a same amount of money from the government’s funds can be used to help many people instead of only one individual. Most importantly, this strategy make sure the everybody has a fair chances to recieve financial aid and, therefore, the society gap can be narrowed.

On the other hand, a focused investing strategy can yeild significant results, compared to a diversified strategy. To specify, since most of the demanding fields in today’s world are directly related to the levels of developments of different countries. An investing policy, which focus on promote the numbers of specialists in a country’ core industries, can significantly boost the economic and social development of that countries. Through this path, the goverment role of narrowing social gap could still be executed by giving financial aids to specific less-fortunate individuals. Moreover, as the society becomes developed as a whole, the less-fortunate will also receive better welfares.

In conclusion, although many people worried that the above-mentioned educational policy may result in an social imbalance, the advantages, including higher rate of social and economic development, can outweight the disadvantages. Therefore, the authority should take this strategy into account.