More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In the modern world, an increasing number of parents is not against their children playing computer games, since they believe computer games help to children to learn modern jobs and increase their knowledge on technology. While computer games offer incredible enjoyment and some knowledge on technology, it also leads to serious health and intellectual problems. In my opinion, the negative effects on health are more significant than the technological benefits.

Playing computer games provides several advantages for the individual. The main benefit is releasing stress and learning computers. When children tire from long hours studying subjects, they can release their boredom, stress and exhaustion by playing enjoyable games, and there is no other way of releasing stress better than playing computer games. Furthermore, computer games allow people to learn computers, other electronic gadgets, and even different languages without attending IT and technological courses. To truly master technology, one must understand its architectural blueprint. When children are encouraged to explore the internal components and logical frameworks of the devices they use, it fosters a sense of curiosity and technical literacy. Another point to consider, video games are perhaps the most potent tools for effortless language acquisition. By toggling a game’s interface and dialogue to a target language such as English, children engage in contextual learning. In essence, children can communicate foreign people.

Despite the arguments mentioned, its detrimental effects on health and over obsession with video games are alarming. Firstly, computers themselves emit ultraviolet rays that are very harmful to the eyes and have a negative impact on children’s vision. In fact, the largest number of people lose their eyesight through phone and computer games. Secondly, children are becoming more dependent on video games nowadays, instead of using it on learning technology and wasting their huge amount of time on this activity.

In conclusion, although computer games offer significant opportunities like learning languages and technology, its drawbacks may outweigh the advantages.