More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Whether to increase the price of high-calorie food or not has long been a controversial issue. Although some people may argue that the price of fattening food should be increased, I believe that there is no justification for doing so because of two main reasons.

First of all, hiking the price of calorie-dense food will not offer a straightforward solution to the increase in obesity rate. The government should raise citizens’ awareness of the effect on fatten foods in long-term consumption, so that people will pay attention to what they are eating and adjust their diet to live a healthier life. For example, by adding more nutrition-related lessons at school, students can learn more about how their food choices can affect their entire body, so that they will be more likely to be mindful about foods and start eating healthier.

Secondly, if this policy is implemented, the benefits of junk foods may be overlooked. Although junk foods may have negative effects on our health if people consume too much, they still provide some essential energy for the body to function properly and have become an inseparable part of our eating culture for many years, especially in Western countries. In addition, experts have shown that eating junk food in moderation may improve one’s mental health as it stimulates the brain to release a hormone molecule called dopamine which makes us feel happier and more satisfied with our life. Because of that, the price of fattening foods should not be raised as it restricts the poor from accessing their favourite foods and stress-reducing methods.

To sum up, although raising the cost of high-calorie food may seem beneficial for improving people’s overall health by limiting the sale of these foods, I believe that it is not a sustainable solution. Education and raising people’s awareness are more effective ways to promote people’s health and I would prefer to keep the price of such foods as they are.