More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think that the best solution is to increase the price of fattening foods.

An increasing number of individuals are suffering from severe obesity. It is believed by some that to tackle this problem is to raise the cost of high-calorie foods.I personally partially agree with this statement, inasmuch as it covers only some parts of this problem.

On the one hand , the solution is not only to increase the price of junk food , but also find the reason why some purchase it.Individuals should find the roots of their obesity; as it can be the lifestyle or lack of time and even hormonal imbalance. For example, individuals may gain weight from having an inactive lifestyle or chronic stress, and it can not be solved by making fattening foods more expensive.

In contrast,some people point out that the increased price of fattening food is a solution; in terms of decreasing availability and social impact. Raising the cost of fast food makes it unavailable for people with tight budgets, which decreases the regular consumption and people may prefer more affordable alternatives, such as fruits and vegetables.Additionally, the rise of price can highlight awareness of harm caused by junk food and stimulate society to devote more attention to healthy products. For instance , if people notice that the cost of fast food is significantly higher than the price of healthier options, this may encourage them to make healthier choices.

In conclusion, while raising the cost of high-calorie food may reduce some consumption , it is not fit for everyone as they could have other causes of being overweight.