More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think that the best solution is to increase the price of fattening foods.

The rapid expansion of fast-food industries all over the world gave rise to a new problem – obesity. As more and more people consume high-calorie foods, it is making them obese. Thus, some people suggest increasing the prices of such foods as a way to solve this problem. In my opinion, this proposal is short-sighted and ineffective, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the situation remains unchanged even if prices go up because it has become habitual to people to eat junk foods. The reason for this is that junk foods are considered to be rather addictive, which makes people crave for them. For instance, hot-dogs, MacDonalds and KFC products are prime examples for foods that are mouth-watering delicious and addictive. So, if these foods are available but at a more expensive price, people will continue to consume them regardless of the price.

Furthermore, private organizations may not be willing to reduce prices. These chain fast-food restaurants are economically important for a country and they provide various job opportunities to millions of people. However, increasing the prices of meals suddenly in an attempt to combat obesity may result in the loss of customers, which ultimately may cause worker redundancy. With this potential bankruptcy in mind, businesses will not make this change in their payment policy. Therefore, a more rational approach to solve this problem is needed.

In conclusion, although the solution of increasing the price of fattening foods may appeal to some people, there are several reasons why this approach is not effective and a rather short-sighted proposal. For one, a slight change in price will not make a significant difference in people’s buying and eating habits. For two, fast-food business may not accept the offer to increase the prices of their food.