More and more people are choosing to eat healthy food and exercise regularly. Why? What can we do to encourage this?

There is a growing interest among people in staying healthy with the combination of a balanced diet and working out. There are a plethora of reasons behind and methods can be adopted to encourage this phenomenon, which will be discussed in this essay.

Initially, the increasing awareness of healthy lifestyles can be attributed to the widespread use of social media. It is now common to watch TV shows or surf the Internet and coincidently come across celebrities, who often have fit appearances and meet most beauty standards. Being influenced by their outlooks, many audiences, especially feminists who often pursue the term ‘true beauty’, may try to research and imitate the diet and exercise regimens of those well-known influencers. The process of unconscious copying can help them stay fit and become healthier compared to compulsive exercising approaches.

In order to let this trend continue to flourish, local authorities have a tremendous role. One way to motivate people is to subsidize particular healthy foods such as organic fruit or fresh vegetables, which are often beyond an individual’s means to consume daily due to their high price. To be precise, high-income people can easily purchase healthy stuff, however, those living under the poverty line will find it hard to afford them. The poor ones, therefore, may refuse to adopt balanced eating habits, instead, they choose to eat cheaper yet less healthy options including fast food. That being said, if the government consider financing the inhabitants with nutritious food, they will encourage everyone to develop dietary meals.

In conclusion, rising health awareness coupled with comprehensive media coverage on healthy eating and exercising have driven healthier lifestyles among people these days. Hence, as long as the government allocates part of its fund on health-benefiting food and constructs more sports centers, more people will adopt healthy lifestyle habits in terms of food consumption and exercise.