More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive or negative development?

These days numerous people consider putting on trendy clothes a necessity. Although this seems to be a largely welcome tendency, there is a drawback as well.

There are a myriad of reasons why people prefer wearing trendy clothes. On the positive side, increasing awareness of wearing fashionable clothes may be profitable for the garment industry. Because people continuously keep updating the latest fashion, they will purchase more stylish clothes, increasing the sales of the clothing company. Releasing seasonal collection, as an illustration, is a logical strategy of retailers to attract more potential customers, as well as the prior season, will generally sell at a discount. Finally, not only people enhance their appearances by wearing trendy garments but that accounts for a great income for employees involved in apparel businesses.

On the other hand, all the branded and popular fashions might not be comfortable and fit everyone. Furthermore, even simple dresses and suits can be expensive, just because they have a brand name, thus not affordable for everyone. Despite this, people might want to purchase it in order to impress others by sporting hight class branded clothing. For intance, a young girl will buy a famous line of clothing and a costly outfit just to impress her friends, even though she might have to borrow money to buy it.

To sum up, buying clothes based on trends has negative impacts, that can be seen at an individual as well as at a macro level.