More and more people are forgetting the actual meaning of occasions (e.g. national festivals). What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions do you suggest?

In contemporary society, the problem of forgetting the actual meaning of occasions have become increasingly alarming. This essay will explore the main cause of this tendency and propose effective solution.

One major reason people are forgetting the main meaning of public festivals is a commercialization. Stores turn national and traditional days into big sales events. By increasing the costs of gifts, food and clothes, they focus only on boosting sales and their earnings rather than spreading the actual meaning of national festivals. For instance, Christmas in the United States has become a major commercial event, with retailers promoting extensive sales and discounts. As a result, purchasing gifts and decorations often receives more attention than the holiday’s original religious significance.

To address this issue, a better educational programs must be encouraged. Schools can teach clear history lessons about why the country celebrates specific dates. By conducting stage plays or shows, educational institutions not only can teach children about the history of national holidays but they can also increase their awareness about importance of these celebrations. A good example is the United States, where schools teach students about the Declaration of Independence before Independence Day, enabling them to understand the historical importance of the celebration rather than viewing it simply as a public holiday. Consequently, by knowing the history and importance of national festivals from an early age, individuals can help to spread the actual meaning of occasions to other generations.

In conclusion, people are forgetting the real value of these festivals due to focus on commercialization rather than the holiday’s significance, and it can be alleviated by the introduction of educational institutions, which teach children about the history of these celebrations. Hence, it can be carried forward to upcoming generations.