More and more people nowadays are living in mega-cities: cities with more than 20 million people. Is it positive or negative development?

In today’s world, the number of people living in large cities is ever increasing. I believe that this idea has more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, residing in mega-cities might have some negative effects. One of the most important drawbacks might be pollution such as air and noise pollution. If people live in cities, which are polluted, they may be exposed to some illnesses including respiratory and hearing problems. Another pertinent demerit of living in huge cities could be originating from a fact that the level of security might not be that high. The lack of security may make dwellers feel unsafe and worried, especially, parents who will concern about their offspring. For example, caregivers who work from dawn to dusk and they have to leave their children alone at home, might not be able to have a full concentration on their jobs, because of thinking of their kids all day.

Notwithstanding the seemingly grounded arguments, the advantages of living in tremendous cities might outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, living in cities with more population would provide citizens with more opportunities such as job and education ones. Secondly, cities, which accommodate large number of people, would offer more health-care facilities, which might be unavailable in small towns of counties. For example, developed cities, which are generally the political capitals of countries, have more advanced and cutting-edge technological devices to cure illnesses.

In conclusion, I would argue that although living in big cities have some negative trends, it is important to recall that mega-cities offer far much more facilities compared to small ones.