The more technology develops,the fewer jobs there will be. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, few think that in the future the number of jobs will decrease due to the fact that new technologies appear more and more frequently. I predominantly agree with this view and the primary purpose of this monograph is to illustrate my position with relevant examples on this topic.

Beginning with my main argument, modern machines and robots can complete human tasks much faster and cheaper. Due to the fact that machines make mistakes less than people and they do not need rest, food, and payment for work. And this leads to a reduction in work places and some professions. For example, many factories now use automatic robotic arms and this makes process faster and cheaper. Another important justification is that artificial intelligence is now replacing human workers. These days, AI already replaced analysts, translators and cashiers. As computer programs can write and translate texts, and serve customers, it leads to fewer openings for support staff.

Exploring the minor viewpoint, one noteworthy argument is that sometimes technological progress creates some new professions. For example, in 2025 after the appearance of AI, people needed new professions such as AI-trainer, prompt engineer, and AI ethicist. Accordingly, the number of jobs increases, but only if we are talking about new jobs. And due to this, some people can find new career paths if they learn technical skills.

For the reasons I mentioned above, although technology creates a limited number of specialized technical professions, I am largely in favor of the opinion that developments increase unemployment due to that machines make work faster and cheaper, and artificial intelligence already replaced some professions.