More and more people nowadays are living in mega-cities: cities with more than 20 million people. Is it positive or negative development?

Against the backdrop of digitalization of society and urbanization and population growth, people have different views as to whether more and more people prefer to live overcrowded cities like more than 20 million population cities. While this trend fosters financial problems, I firmly believe that it is highly advantageous since it promotes social interaction and cohesion. From a more critical prescreptive, modern society livers is likely to impose a heavy financial burden on governments. Those who prefer living largely populated areas as opposed to relying on inhabit in rural areas, have no choice but to cover a wide range of expenses related to exorbitant living prices, transportation costs, and traffic congestion fees, all of which can severely strain their budgets and raise serious monetary concerns. In the face of severe financial constraints, individuals may find it difficult to make ends meet, pay off debts, and provide for their family, let alone save up for future emergencies like health issues and invest in income-generating assets. At the end of the day, at a time when the cost of living has already spiraled out of control and wages have remained stagnant, leaving individuals from low incomes and middle-class families struggling to get by, living urban areas instead of occupying the same accommodations might complicate matters even further and strain their budget even more, which in turn undermines financial freedom and stability, potentially degrading the overall quality of life.

Reliable and efficient dwelling prices play a crucial role in fostering social interaction and cohesion by bringing people from diverse backgrounds together in shared spaces. Those who accommodate capital cities interact with commuters from different walks of life, hold casual conversations, exchange ideas and experiences, make friends, and form meaningful relationships, thereby bridging social divisions and building more closely-knit and united communities. Such interactions also offer students the chance to hone their social skills, from communication and negotiation to conflict resolution and active listening. By stepping out of their comfort zones and initiating conversations with strangers, People living in sparsely populated areas often learn how to read facial expressions, ask open-ended questions, offer genuine compliments, maintain eye contact, listen attentively, resolve conflicts constructively, and put themselves in others’ shoes. When people feel connected with their fellow community members, irrespective of socio-economic status or culture, the likelihood of mutual conflicts, misunderstandings, and fights decreases, allowing all members of society to feel comfortable and safe without high rates of crime, violence, and vandalism.

In conclusion, while abiding in dancely populated areas provides more opportunities and independence, in my opinion, this trend is a negative one.