More and more people today are moving from the countryside. Why is this happening? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

One of the most common reasons why people living in the countryside are moving to modern cities is that there are more facilities than those of rural areas. Several other reasons can be cited why this is happening and, to me, it is as much of a positive development as it is a negative one.

I believe there are two main reasons that might explain why more individuals have intentions to relocate to urban areas. The first, arguably most obvious reason has to do with citizens’ intentions to reside in areas with high living standards that are often found in urban areas. In most cities, there are no problems with accessing electricity, water, heating, or gas, which are common in rural areas. As a consequence, more and more people every year want to live there because of those newer facilities which are being provided continuously. The second reason also speaks to the challenges that many are experiencing in rural areas. As growing plants is challenging work and takes a lot of time, sometimes they may not manage their time properly, for example, allocating time for their family members and their other crucial tasks.

In my view, such a trend should be recognized as being both negative and positive. On a positive note, this development will ultimately benefit the cities as people live, work, and study there that leads to the profit in the country’s economy. However, there might be some shortages of essential food resources, such as vegetables and fruits, which are always being given by people living in rural areas. As a consequence, individuals are likely to become accustomed to fast foods and they tend to develop illnesses like asthma, heart diseases, and other serious ilnesses. In this case, consumers have no choice but to purchase less nutritional meals, which are rich in chemical substances, to eat on a regular basis.

In conclusion, it is fair to say that lack of food resources, which are useful for human beings’ health, can lead to different results, and I am still of the opinion that it should be regarded as both positive and negative development.