More and more people today are moving from the countryside. Why is this happening? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

An increasing number of people tend to live in the urban areas rather than the countryside. To my mind, this can be explained by two main reasons, and I believe that it is a change for the worse for both economic and social reason.

To begin with, two principal arguments can be put forward to explain why most people nowadays are migrating to cities. The first reason is that cities provide better access to quality education and well-paid job prospects, leading to increased economic mobility and higher standard of living for individuals. Thus, in turn, can result in greater financial security, career advancement and improved social status. The second one is that people are attracted to the modern conveniences in urban areas, such as shopping mall, entertainment and better public services (transportation and internet connectivity), resulting in move up next career ladder and provide personal satisfaction.

While the movement of people from can fuel economic growth and improve individual prospects, the negative effects on both urban and rural areas. For instance, fewer employees are remained to work in the land, which can bring about delays in harvesting, higher labor costs and a concomitant grow in cost of food. Another blow to urban settings is that an increasing the likelihood of subsequent overpopulation implications, putting pressure on transportation, healthcare services and apartment availability, resulting in increased pollution, transport congestion and rising living costs.

In conclusion, providing with better qualities and using modern conveniences can be cited as the main reasons for why more people migrating to cities. Personally, this development is negative as it can brings increased in cost of foodstuffs and overwhelming infrastructure.