More and more people today are spending a large amount of money on their complexions in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative progression?

In modern society, more and more individuals allocating very large amount of money to look far younger. This is due to unrealistic beauty standards and a desire to gain more confidence by appearing more beautiful to others. This essay will examine both sides of this trend and provides my own view about the reasons and causes of looking younger.

There are several reasons why individuals are so eager to look younger. One of the major reasons is that the very unrealistic beauty standards are exist in some parts of the world. Social media promotes a youthful and beautiful appearance. For example, there are some influencers who are obsessed with looking very attractive and rarely aged, which can make people imitate them excessively. Another contributing reason is the career advantages, which makes people to follow even more unrealistic beauty. This is because younger individuals tend to look more energetic and productive, especially in business and entertainment. For instance, some companies hire somebody who looks very younger and punctual and even some places have the slogan says “youth is often associated with productivity and innovation”

However, despite these reasons, I believe this trend is mostly negative, but has some minor benefits. Firstly, this can cause the increase of unrealistic beauty standards. As a result, People become dissatisfied with their natural appearance. For example, if individuals see an influencer who is attractive, they tend to compare their appearance with theirs. Additionally, this can also be a great waste of money, which can make people to spend money on skincare products. In most of them, it is hard to see the effect of these cosmetic procedures. For instance, if people see a cosmetic product on the social media, they merely purchase it even not knowing this can be such a waste of money. Moreover, this trend also tends to cause mental issues in some people, some people tend to have low self-esteem, anxiety and, obsession with appearance. It is also worth mentioning that there are some minor upsides of this trend such as a high confidence and economic benefits which can help people to feel better about themselves. Also, can cause producing a lot of cosmetic procedures.

In conclusion, although there are a few minor benefits, I believe the overall impact of this trend is negative because it promotes unrealistic standards and can harm both financial and mental well-being.