More and more people today are spending a large amount of money on their complexions in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative progression?

There is an increasing trend of looking younger among society. The major reason of it is an ideal picture in the social media. I believe that this is a negative development due to constant comparisons with others and not acceptance of your natural beauty.

Nowadays, people tend to question their appearance more and more, wanting to look young. This is because the internet set standards in which beauty flaws are almost prohibited. This means that people no longer accept looking old, thus rush to make surgeries to get rid of imperfections. Therefore, because people see a perfect image in the social media, they set it as a standard and as it should be. For example, during COVID, high number of people made videos using filters and makeup. After this, many people wore facial masks long after because of comparisons.

Although many individuals believe that looking younger than you are is a positive thing due to the fact that it became normal, I think this development carries a negative mindset that results in a denial of imperfections. For example, it became an assault to enquire someone that the person looks his age.

In conclusion, plenty of people want to look younger because of comparisons in the internet.